British Open Prize Money

British Open Logo

The British Open purse was £5,400,000 ($9,234,000) for the 2014 tournament at the Royal Liverpool Golf Club in Hoylake, England. The winner of the British Open, Rory McIlory received the winner's check of £975,000 (approx. $1,667,250) and 600 FedEx Cup points.

Tied in second place Sergio Garcia and Rickie Fowler received £460,000 / $786,600 prize money each and in 4th Jim Furyk collected a £280,000 / $478,800 payout. Marc Leishman and Adam Scott shared 5th place to collect earnings of £210,500 / $359,955.

2014 British Open Payouts

The British Open prize money distribution including player earnings for each prize winning leadeboard position. The tournament prize money was published in British Pound Sterling and the payouts have been converted to Dollars. View the full Open Championship prize money in British Pound Sterling here.

  • 1st. Rory McIlroy - Prize Money: $1,665,788
  • 2nd. Sergio Garcia - Prize Money: $785,910
  • 2nd. Rickie Fowler - Prize Money: $785,910
  • 4th. Jim Furyk - Prize Money: $478,380
  • 5th. Marc Leishman - Prize Money: $359,639
  • 5th. Adam Scott - Prize Money: $359,639
  • 7th. Charl Schwartzel - Prize Money: $263,536
  • 7th. Edoardo Molinari - Prize Money: $263,536
  • 9th. Shane Lowry - Prize Money: $192,492
  • 9th. Graeme McDowell - Prize Money: $192,492
  • 9th. Victor Dubuisson - Prize Money: $192,492
  • 12th. Ryan Moore - Prize Money: $144,654
  • 12th. Robert Karlsson - Prize Money: $144,654
  • 12th. Dustin Johnson - Prize Money: $144,654
  • 15th. Francesco Molinari - Prize Money: $117,318
  • 15th. Stephen Gallacher - Prize Money: $117,318
  • 15th. David Howell - Prize Money: $117,318
  • 18th. George Coetzee - Prize Money: $105,073
  • 19th. Angel Cabrera - Prize Money: $93,968
  • 19th. Chris Kirk - Prize Money: $93,968
  • 19th. Keegan Bradley - Prize Money: $93,968
  • 19th. Matteo Manassero - Prize Money: $93,968

See below for full the prize money breakdown for all players who made the cut.

PlayerPrize Money
1Rory McIlroy$1,665,788
2Rickie Fowler$785,910
2Sergio Garcia$785,910
4Jim Furyk$478,380
5Marc Leishman$359,639
5Adam Scott$359,639
7Edoardo Molinari$263,536
7Charl Schwartzel$263,536
9Graeme McDowell$192,492
9Shane Lowry$192,492
9Victor Dubuisson$192,492
12Ryan Moore$144,654
12Dustin Johnson$144,654
12Robert Karlsson$144,654
15David Howell$117,318
15Francesco Molinari$117,318
15Stephen Gallacher$117,318
18George Coetzee$105,073
19Matteo Manassero$93,968
19Angel Cabrera$93,968
19Keegan Bradley$93,968
19Chris Kirk$93,968
23Chris Wood$78,876
23Justin Rose$78,876
23Phil Mickelson$78,876
26Darren Clarke $65,350
26Brian Harman$65,350
26Byeong-hun An$65,350
26Thomas Bjorn$65,350
26Ben Martin$65,350
26Jimmy Walker$65,350
32D A Points$52,964
32Kristoffer Broberg$52,964
32Hunter Mahan$52,964
35Jordan Spieth$46,271
35Louis Oosthuizen$46,271
35Branden Grace$46,271
38Kevin Stadler$36,253
38Brendon Todd$36,253
38Henrik Stenson$36,253
38Gary Woodland$36,253
38Hideki Matsuyama$36,253
38Thongchai Jaidee$36,253
38Koumei Oda$36,253
38Marc Warren$36,253
46Grégory Bourdy$27,358
46Paul Casey$27,358
46Zach Johnson$27,358
46Stewart Cink$27,358
50Tom Watson $25,030
50Bill Haas$25,030
50Jason Dufner$25,030
53Kevin Na$23,791
53Matt Kuchar$23,791
53Matt Jones$23,791
53Kevin Streelman$23,791
57Ryan Palmer $22,808
57Brandt Snedeker$22,808
57Chris Rodgers$22,808
57Jason Day$22,808
57John Senden $22,808
62Thorbjorn Olesen$22,040
62Billy Hurley III$22,040
62Luke Donald$22,040
65Charley Hoffman$21,613
65Brooks Koepka$21,613
67Tiger Woods$21,356
68Martin Kaymer$21,185
69Matt Every$21,015
70Rhein Gibson$20,844
David Hearn$52,964
Jamie McLeary$22,808

Copy & paste the code above.