2014 PGA Championship Results

Rory McIlroy 2014 PGA Championship Winner
Rory McIlroy 2014 PGA Championship Winner

Rory McIlory has won the 2014 PGA Championship after a thrilling final round at the Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville, Kentucky. It is McIlroy's 3rd consecutive victory with wins at the Bridgestone Invitational and British Open and his 2nd PGA Championship title.

As the light faded fast Rory McIlroy and Bernd Wiesberger were forced to tee off on the 18th as Phil Mickelson and Rickie Fowler headed up the fairway to take their second shots. The tournament leaders were keen to complete the round and the rules state the McIlroy or Wiesberger needed to tee off before the horn was blown to signify bad light.

Phil Mickelson and Rickie Fowler had long eagle putts to tie with McIlory, Mickelson came closest but finished with a birdie and Fowler 3 putted for a par. After a wayward drive McIlroy was in the first cut of rough on the right of the fairway and opted to play it safe with a layup to the green. The shot found its way into the bunker at the left side of the green, McIlroy tried to play a runner up to the hole but played it short. He had two shots to win and three shots to tie which would've been straightforward for the Northern Irishman. But light was fading fast making judging the distance and contours of the green increasingly difficult. McIlroy hit his putt straight and true and left himself with an easy putt to finish with a birdie and win the tournament by a shot at 16 under par.

2014 PGA Championship Leaderboard

2014 PGA Championship Logo
2014 PGA Championship Logo

PositionPlayersTotal StrokesScores
1Rory McIlroy268-16
2Phil Mickelson269-15
3Rickie Fowler270-14
3Henrik Stenson270-14
5Jim Furyk272-12
5Ryan Palmer272-12
7Ernie Els273-11
7Hunter Mahan273-11
7Jimmy Walker273-11
7Steve Stricker273-11
7Victor Dubuisson273-11
7Mikko Ilonen273-11
13Brandt Snedeker274-10
13Kevin Chappell274-10
15Adam Scott275-9
15Marc Warren275-9
15Charl Schwartzel275-9
15Brooks Koepka275-9
15Louis Oosthuizen275-9
15Lee Westwood275-9
15Jason Day275-9
15Bernd Wiesberger275-9
15Graham DeLaet275-9
24Justin Rose276-8
24Jamie Donaldson276-8
26Joost Luiten277-7
27Kenny Perry278-6
27Bill Haas278-6
27Jerry Kelly278-6
30Thorbjorn Olesen279-5
30Alexander Levy279-5
30Danny Willett279-5
33Daniel Summerhays280-4
33Cameron Tringale280-4
33Nick Watney280-4
36Hideki Matsuyama281-3
36Vijay Singh281-3
36Richard Sterne281-3
36Jonas Blixt281-3
36Sergio Garcia281-3
41Koumei Oda282-2
41Brian Harman282-2
41Ryan Moore282-2
41Jason Bohn282-2
41Brendon De Jonge282-2
41Luke Donald282-2
47Pat Perez283-1
47Marc Leishman283-1
47Graeme McDowell283-1
47Robert Karlsson283-1
47Branden Grace283-1
47Fabrizio Zanotti283-1
47Edoardo Molinari283-1
47Scott Brown283-1
47Chris Wood283-1
47Matt Jones283-1
47Geoff Ogilvy283-1
47Shane Lowry283-1
59Billy Horschel2840
59Brendan Steele2840
59Francesco Molinari2840
59Ian Poulter2840
59Patrick Reed2840
59Gonzalo Fernu00e1ndez-Castau00f1o2840
65Kevin Stadler2873
65Bubba Watson2873
65Chris Stroud2873
65J B Holmes2873
69Fredrik Jacobson2895
69Colin Montgomerie2895
69Zach Johnson2895
72Brendon Todd2939
73Rafa Cabrera-Bello29410