The Open Championship
The Open Championship

The British Open purse was £6,300,000 for the 2015 tournament at the St. Andrews Old Course in Fife, Scotland. The winner of the 2015 British Open, Zach Johnson, received the 1st prize payout of £1,150,000 ($1,794,690). It’s the first time the winner’s payout has been over £1,000,000 for the tournament.

The prize fund for the British Open has increased by £900,000 from 2014 tournament which had a £5,400,000 purse. Rory McIlroy collected last year’s 1st place prize money of £975,000, this year Dustin Johnson took home £175,000 more.

Tied in second place, Louis Oosthuizen and Marc Leishman received $837,262 prize money. Jason Day and Jordan Spieth finished in 4th place and collected payouts of $460,370. Four players shared 6th place, Danny Willett, Justin Rose, Sergio Garica and Jordan Niebrugge. As an amateur, Niebrugge isn’t eligible for a share of the prize fund, the players he shared 6th place with each received $305,878 prize money.

2015 British Open Prize Money

The British Open prize money breakdown including player earnings for each prize winning position will be published on Sunday July 19th when the tournament has been concluded. Below are the provisional payouts for the first 70 leaderboard positions in British pounds and US Dollars.

PositionPlayersPrize Money
1stZach Johnson$1,794,690
2ndLouis Oosthuizen$837,262
3rdMarc Leishman$837,262
4thJason Day$460,377
4thJordan Spieth$460,377
6thDanny Willett$305,878
6thJustin Rose$305,878
6thSergio Garcia$305,878
6thJordan Niebrugge$0
10thBrooks Koepka$216,143
10thAdam Scott$216,143
12thBrendon Todd$162,107
12thLuke Donald$162,107
12thMartin Kaymer$162,107
12thAnthony Wall$162,107
12thOllie Schniederjans$0
12thAshley Chesters$0
18thHideki Matsuyama$129,140
18thRobert Streb$129,140
20thBranden Grace$95,938
20thRussell Henley$95,938
20thGreg Owen$95,938
20thPhil Mickelson$95,938
20thJames Morrison$95,938
20thMarcus Fraser$95,938
20thStewart Cink$95,938
20thPatrick Reed$95,938
20thRetief Goosen$95,938
20thPadraig Harrington$95,938
30thBilly Horschel$63,075
30thJimmy Walker$63,075
30thAndy Sullivan$63,075
30thAnirban Lahiri$63,075
30thMatt Jones$63,075
30thJim Furyk$63,075
30thRyan Palmer$63,075
30thSteven Bowditch$63,075
30thRickie Fowler$63,075
30thPaul Dunne$0
40thPaul Lawrie$49,480
40thScott Arnold$43,480
40thFrancesco Molinari$43,480
40thHenrik Stenson$43,480
40thRafael Cabrera Bello$43,480
40thJohn Senden$43,480
40thGeoff Ogilvy$43,480
40thWebb Simpson$43,480
40thMarc Warren$43,480
49thRyan Fox$29,227
49thJamie Donaldson$29,227
49thDavid Howell$29,227
49thGraeme McDowell$29,227
49thLee Westwood$29,227
49thDavid Duval$29,227
49thHunter Mahan$29,227
49thDustin Johnson$29,227
49thEddie Pepperell$29,227
58thCameron Tringale$24,824
58thMatt Kuchar$24,824
58thGary Woodland$24,824
58thDavid Lipsky$24,824
58thKevin Na$24,824
58thJason Dufner$24,824
58thGreg Chalmers$24,824
65thErnie Els$23,955
65thThongchai Jaidee$23,955
65thRomain Langasque$0
68thRoss Fisher$23,331
68thBernd Wiesberger$23,331
68thRichie Ramsay$23,331
68thHarris English$23,331
68thGraham DeLaet$23,331
68thCharl Schwartzel$23,331
74thPaul Casey$22,551
74thBrett Rumford$22,551
74thDavid Lingmerth$22,551
74thBen Martin$22,551
78thBernhard Langer$22,082
78thMark O'Meara$22,082
80thThomas Aiken$21,848

Amateur golfers are ineligible for a share of the British Open prize money.